Requotes

I was reading an article by Jenna Martin and she hits it right there regarding my thoughts about watermark…

Get over your watermark already.
1. No one wants to steal your images right now. You’re not that good. There are a lot better photos out there that people could steal.

2. Putting a giant watermark in the middle of your photo does not keep people from stealing it, it keeps them from enjoying your work.

3. If they really want to steal it, a watermark isn’t going to stop them. Hell just last week I had to use one of my photos for a flyer, and I didn’t have the original on hand. So I took one from Facebook, cloned out the watermark and pasted it on the flyer. Worked for exactly what I needed it to do and it took all of 6 minutes. The watermark didn’t even slow me down.

4. “But my watermark let’s people know who took the photo!” So does your page link, but fine, if it’s really that big of a deal to you then put it in tiny letters in the bottom. If it’s not taking up the whole photo people will be much less inclined to crop it out.

Leave a Reply

