Boardwalk City

_DSC1609-3

Sometimes you win some, sometimes you lose some. And that is the statement most light chaser like us have grown to accept. I had a dismal sunset as the angle that I had chosen was really tight and difficult to get the shot I wanted. I was walking to the station and chanced upon this scene right in front of me. I couldn’t believe what I saw in front of me…near empty MBS boardwalk. And the light streaks on the floor is just attractive for a foreground. I quickly ignored the hunger growls in my stomach and whack lots of composition around the area.

I was recently influence by a fella photography on G+ by the name of Lisa especially with her B&W cityscape work. I knew that the cityscape shot was quite washed out as the sky conditions wasn’t optimum so I took the leap of faith to try out black and white processing. The shot is just a single raw image with adjustments mainly for highlight being the main concern. I also noticed that I need use a new set of sharpening as the current sharpening adjustments will cause halo to the already lighted buildings.

I am really busy at work this week as my colleague went overseas and I have to fend off most of the work by myself. It was quite a crazy load as I didn’t have time throughout the day to go toilet and had to OT these few days. The only positive to all of these is that I somehow enjoy the work. I guess its our mentality towards our work that affects our attitude. I really hope I can maintain such optimism for the dark days to come.

This is another thanksgiving week to God as God has blessed me with additional team of 3 (A.Mad, Mag and Amos) to assist me with my photography project for church. And most importantly, these people God has placed with me are in similar wavelength with my idea and have been spontaneous. I am really looking forward to this Sunday when we try out the whole idea and see if the process will work out. So I pray for God’s guidance and blessing to help us be able to figure all of these out.

Settings: ISO 100, f11, 8s
Equipment – Nikon D7000 + Tokina 11-16
Accessories – N1004 + G20
Place – MBS Boardwalk

Leave a Reply

