Crystal Clear

Crystal Clear

This time round I am back for “vengeance” because the other time there were a few photographers who took this angle from me. Luckily for me, I was the only one and I bumped into Michael. I came to know Michael while going to Lower Peirce Reservoir for sunset. He kindly stopped by the road and offered me a ride into the reservoir as he saw my tripod and knew that I was taking sunset. I was really fortunate as the time was already 645pm and the sun was setting fast. Thank you Michael! I realise that my photography has got to let me know more people somehow…

This shot is a very simple and highly recommended shot to go try in Singapore. I did a long exposure for this shot to get rid of the human beings in the foreground.

The post processing focuses on 3 areas:
-Highlights, Sharpness and Tilting
I knew that such a long exp will cause the highlights to be blown. Therefore I had to sacrificed it. You could argue: “Why don’t just blending and get back all the details?” If we can nail a shot with small sacrifices, then so be it. Imperfection makes the shot more natural.
Sharpness of the buildings is very important. As you can see from my shot that the building is literally near popping out effect.
Tilting of lens will cause the whole cityscape to look weird. So during the shot itself i checked alot of times to ensure this does not happen. During post, I also checked it against grid to ensure it is straight.

Settings – ISO 800, f5.6, 30s
Equipment – Nikon D7000 + Tokina 11-16
Accessories – Sirui R1004 + G20 + Haida 10 Stop
Place – Art Science Museum

Leave a Reply

