Wonders of God

DSC_8333

This is my first attempt at taking stars. I was in total awe when I went down the beach which was pitch dark – CARPET OF STARS filled the skies! It was amazing and breath-taking! I have always been amazed by God’s creations via Sunset and Sunrise and this my first time stars took me away.

The sky was clear and I was busy trying to get the settings right before I begin star trails. There was smthg wrong with my camera’s intervalometer and I had a really hard time trying to get the settings right. After 15 mins of struggling, I finally manage to get it! But…the clouds came and I was super de-moralized. Siew Li shouted from behind that they were going to take Macro instead. So I was totally left stranded alone there. There is this mantra that I adopted for photography – “Never Give Up”. So I started to fiddle around and tried composing for single shot. For those who never try pitch dark composing before, it is seriously tough max. Imagine looking through your viewfinder and seeing…pitch dark. It took me nearly 5mins to get the composition I wanted. Then it took me another 10mins to get the correct light onto the rocks. It was rather scary being left alone out in pitch dark but the thought of creating such an image spurred me on.

Composition was the standard 1/3 rule. The huge rock was placed at 1/3 and I did a few times of light-painting before this effect came about. The focus of the eye was further engaged by the strong light bouncing off it. 2 prong approach to shift view’s attention to what I think is interesting for the foreground.

The processing for this shot is so simple…just sharpen, reduce the noise and increase the exposure.

Once again, thank God for the wonderful creations he put around me. I still got loads to learn and photograph and I am totally recharged by this experience. I hope more people will come to appreciate photography for its good core values. Sometimes, I wonder God bestowing photography to me so that I could be moulded for His purposes. Deep down, I always give him the glory and honour for every single picture that I ever taken. Amen!

Settings – ISO 1600, f2.8, 30s
Equipment – Nikon D7000, Tokina 11-16
Accessories – Sirui N1004 + G20 + Mini Stool

4 thoughts on “Wonders of God

Leave a Reply

