Durian Skyline

Durian Skyline

I decided to head down to Cityhall for a photowalk by myself. Usually I shoot photographs alone cause it is my source of solace and having people around really disturbs my “Chi”. During this period of time, I was using a WHITE pentax camera which is very eye-catching. So, the guy(Photographer) standing next to me started to observe my shots and process and he started chatting up with me. And asking questions about the workflow, settings and Singapore. I guess photography is a really great way to know more people.

The shot taken is Singapore’s Esplanade and what locals term it as “Durian” because of the likeness to the fruit itself. Esplanade – Theatres on the Bay is one of the busiest arts centres in the world. Esplanade’s vision is to be a performing arts centre for everyone. As such, about 70% of its shows offer free admission. This architectural icon, with its distinctive twin shells, houses world-class performance spaces complemented by a comprehensive range of professional support services. Esplanade celebrated its 10th Anniversary in 2012 with a meaningful, year-long celebration themed, Celebrating Life – The best of the Human Spirit through the Arts.

Settings – ISO 100, f11, 30s
Equipment – Pentax K-X, DAL 18-55mm
Place – This was taken right beside Merlion along One Fullerton This is a very popular place for tourist and photographers who gather to take pictures. It was a quite a interesting night as I made 3 new Taiwanese friends and talked to them. I also gave them a bit of “local tips” getting around Singapore.

Leave a Reply

